Lessons Learned From Drive (Part 2) and Mothers Day

  • The second main session focused on “Becoming A Great Staff.” Some of the highlights from this session were:
  1. A healthy staff culture is characterized by mutual submision. This means being servants to one another. Ho many times in church life have we seen a church buy 3 identical products (sound system, tv, etc.) because ministries would not share with each other? We must serve one another to become great.  (Mark 10:32-45)
  2. A healthy staff asks each other, “What can I do to help?” If we’re honest, in most churches the staff is to busy in their own little world to know or care what is going on in other ministries. We must seek church health, not just our own ministry health. We must be servants of others on our staff.
  3. Do for one when you can’t do for all. Andy gave an example of two staff members that had made requests for things they needed in their ministry. One staff member needed a laptop. The other staff member needed a paper cutter. Financially, they could not afford a laptop at the moment, but they could afford a paper cutter. Andy said this is not “fair” per se, but it does allow you to have positive influence on some ministries, even whaen you can’t do for all.
  4. Systematize top down service. We must get away from the system of, “I’m the big cheese, you’re the little cheese. You do what I say.” While I definitely agree with (and the Bible supports) leadership structure, leadership must be characterized by modeling servanthood.
  5. Celebrate and reward greatness when you see it. How greatly could the words “good job” increase the health of your staff cultre today?
  • Sunday was Mother’s Day. I am fortunate to have married WAAAAY out of my league. I have a wife who is stunningly beautiful, very wise, very charming, loves saving our family money, love me deeply. and is an incredible mother to our son Charlie. She rarely gets recognized enough for her hard work “behind the scenes,” but she is the force that makes our family go round. I love you Katie! Happy Mother’s Day!
  • Katie’s parents, her grandfather, and her grandmother came to eat with us on Mother’s Day. I wanted to cook lunch in honor of Mother’s Day, and it actually turned out edible! I made poppyseed chicken, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, green beans, salad, and a cake for dessert. Nobody has reported food poisioning. Yet.

3 Comments

  1. Sounds like a great way to celebrate Mother’s Day. And yes, you are a VERY Blessed man!!!

  2. You are the Love of my Life and I am fortunate to have such a fabulous, giving, handsome husband! Hope you feel better soon:)

  3. AND might I add, what a marvelous cook you are!! Lunch was wonderful on Sunday. We are anxiously awaiting our next meal prepared at your hands. Can I suggest chili and banana pudding?
    🙂 What fun we’ve had!
    KP


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment